PDA

View Full Version : Double Photo Posting



Benton629
04-01-2014, 14:33
When I upload pics from my computer I get two photos shown on the posting. One is shown as an attachment.

I tried different browsers with the same result. I have to immediately edit my posts to remove the duplicate.
What gives?

St. Bernhardt
04-01-2014, 14:37
Have you read the tutorial on how to post pictures?

http://pipesmokerunlimited.com/showthread.php?4649-How-To-Post-Pictures-Please-Read!

Peter Piper
04-01-2014, 14:39
"I don't know" is my honest answer to your immediate question.

Personally, I find it easier to store my pictures on a photo hosting site (e.g. Photobucket) which then allows me to simply insert an image link here when I want to post a picture. It is very effective when you get the hang of it and saves on the forum's server space as well.

Hermit
04-01-2014, 21:49
Uncheck this box:
X Retrieve remote file and reference locally

Benton629
04-01-2014, 22:27
Where is this? under settings?

Peter Piper
04-01-2014, 22:42
Instead of using the "Attachments" (paperclip icon) option, use the "Insert Image" (picture icon) option.

Benton629
04-01-2014, 23:32
http://pipesmokerunlimited.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=8178&stc=1

dmcmtk
04-01-2014, 23:37
Benton, in this last example what exactly did you do?

Benton629
04-02-2014, 02:22
I used the insert image icon only. This gives a double post.
If I use the attachment paperclip I get one pic only.

dmcmtk
04-02-2014, 02:32
I used the insert image icon only. This gives a double post.
If I use the attachment paperclip I get one pic only.

And the image is from your computer?

Benton629
04-02-2014, 02:36
Yes.

dmcmtk
04-02-2014, 02:43
I honestly don't know, I tried to duplicate what you were getting, but could not.

dmcmtk
04-02-2014, 02:45
test8186

dmcmtk
04-02-2014, 02:45
still can't make it happen.

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 07:01
Using the "Insert Image" button (attaching the picture from your computer):

8194

Only ONE picture uploaded, as you can see... no "double picture".

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 07:04
Using the "Insert Image" button again, this time opting for the "From Url" tap... the box "Retrieve remote file and reference locally" is checked:

8195

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 07:06
Again, using the "Insert Image" button and the "From Url" tap... but with the "Retrieve remote file and reference locally" box UNchecked:

http://s29.postimg.org/vl7sevho7/magnum.jpg

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 07:08
Now using the "Attach picture" function by choosing "Go Advanced" and hit the paperclip icon...

In this case, I choose "Insert Inline":

8196

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 07:10
Finally, again using the "Attach picture" / Paperclip in the "Go Advanced" view when posting, but choosing "Done" instead of "Insert Inline" when the picture has been uploaded:

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 07:10
In short, I could not re-create the "double image" fault, either.......

Benton629
04-02-2014, 12:28
I unchecked the local reference box in the retrieve from remote url tab then uploaded from my computer.

http://pipesmokerunlimited.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=8216&stc=1

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 12:31
Don't uncheck it...

Benton629
04-02-2014, 12:34
Okay. I deleted some of the previously uploaded files and tried it again. No duplicate this time. See last post with pic above. It also deleted those same pics from my previous posts. I think I'll use photobucket exclusively.

Benton629
04-02-2014, 12:36
8217

Benton629
04-02-2014, 12:36
Same result. Duplicate post.

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 12:39
It's strange, Benton...

As you see, I tried all ways to upload / post a picture and could not re-create the problem... It might be the settings on your computer messing things up.

Lemme try editing your post with the picture of the Bulldog and see what happens, though...

Benton629
04-02-2014, 12:42
http://i1292.photobucket.com/albums/b564/Benton629/escudo-ac-petersen_zps45248651.jpg

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 12:43
Okay... in your case, it must be the computer settings locally.

I suggest you use the "Go Advanced" option when you want to post a picture and use the Attach Picture feature (Paperclip icon) instead of the "Insert Image" button... follow the instructions in the tutorial on how to post pics.

That should do the trick.... otherwise, as you said, use Photobucket or - the imho much easier to use - postimage.org site.

Benton629
04-02-2014, 12:43
Used Photobucket and no duplicate when using the img link.
Thanks for all the help!

St. Bernhardt
04-02-2014, 12:44
http://i1292.photobucket.com/albums/b564/Benton629/escudo-ac-petersen_zps45248651.jpg

Now, that worked as intended.