Thread: Jean Sommer Grand Luxe **** Number 1

Real Name
    Mark
    Pipe smoker since
    1970 with an interruption of 40 years while I was smoking only cigarettes

8 members Liked or found this post helpful.

Jean Sommer Grand Luxe **** Number 1

I've been collecting pipes now for about 3 1/2 years. A few of those were new. The rest were estate pipes which were claimed to have been cleaned. On half of those, I've sent them off to Dean and other people for further cleaning or restoration. On the others I've cleaned out the stem and mortice with Falcon pipe cleaner spray on pipecleaners, which is isopropanol plus heptane. On two or three that were somewhat oxidised I've de-oxidised them and polished and buffed them on a cotton wheel. This has all been really easy.

A few months ago, I bought four unrestored, dirty pipes which were badly oxidised and which I didn't trust myself to restore. Luckily Piffyr (Anthony) was willing to handle them and turned all four of them into pipes that could be mistaken for new. One of these, a Comoy's Oom Paul shape 235 from around 1940-1950 is described in the thread

http://pipesmokerunlimited.com/showt...tion-Pic-Heavy

and the following shows half of one of the photos from that thread.

extord235-200_2.jpg

This was my first Oom Paul (named after Paul Kruger from South Africa about 1900), and which is also called a Hungarian. They have sort of gone out of style although most of the BritWood companies had versions of them. Comoy made a second smaller version with the shape 210, which was my second full bent. That is off with Piffyr for resoration at the moment.

My impression of smoking the Oom Paul was that it was awkward. Big heavy piece of wood hanging from your dentures. Difficult to make sure you didn't drop it. It looked great but somewhat I wasn't sure if it was practical or not, and could sort of understand why nobody smokes them that I know of. But it certainly looked beautiful.